Why You Need An Editor #1

These are actual items I’ve come across.

This is from a document I edited for a client:

“Anyone who fails to comply with the regulations receives a penalty anally.”

Uh, I really hope you mean “annually.”

Here is the subject line of an email I received from Roots:

“Last chance to save Thomas”

Oh my God, Thomas has been kidnapped! They’re going to kill him! What do we do? What do we do?

Oh. I think they meant “Last chance to save, Thomas.”

(By the way, my name’s not Thomas. See the post “Reasons My Blog is Anonymous #1.”)

I found this in a student paper:

“frustrated nuclear ambiguous”

Great name for a band, but I think you meant “frustrated nuclear ambitions”? And by the way, don’t believe everything your spell-checker tells you.

(FYI, my clients approved the anonymous use of these examples. They think they’re funny, too.)

Leave a Reply

